Skip to content ↓

Phase 2

In Phase 2 children are introduced to 19 letters grouped into 5 sets. One set will generally be taught in one week.

Set 1:   s / a / t / p
Set 2: i / n / m / d
Set 3: g / o / c / k
Set 4: ck / e / u / r
Set 5: h / b / f, ff / l, ll / ss

Children are encouraged to begin blending the letters into words straight away. Therefore, having been taught only Set 1, children can make (and read) 'at' / 'sat' / 'pat' / 'tap' etc.

A magnetic board and set of letters is a really useful resource. However, post-it notes or scraps of paper with letters drawn on them can do the job just as well.

Nonsense words, such as 'tas' (using just Set 1) are also acceptable as they allow children to explore sounds freely. Misspelt words (that are phonetically plausible) are also allowable e.g. 'pas' (with Set 1), although, in time you would want to point out the correct spelling: 'pass'.

As children learn all the sets in Phase 2, they will be able to make (and read) an ever growing number of words. 

Double consonants are taught early - ff / ll / ss - to show children that sometimes more than one letter represents a single sound. In the case of these letters, it is the same sound as the single letter represents. In Phase 3 children learn that this is not always the case.

The grapheme 'ck' is taught at this stage as it features in many of the early words children learn e.g. back / neck / sack.

Phase 2 Sounds Mat | Teaching Resources