Skip to content ↓


Letters and Sounds is a programme we use in school to support the systematic teaching of phonics to help the children read and spell words. The programme is split into 6 phases. There is a lot of background information, free resources and games on the Letter and Sounds website.


Phonic Knowledge and Skills

Phase One

Activities are divided into seven aspects, including environmental sounds, instrumental sounds, body sounds, rhythm and rhyme, alliteration, voice sounds and finally oral blending and segmenting.

Phase Two

Learning 19 letters of the alphabet and one sound for each. Blending sounds together to make words. Segmenting words into their separate sounds. Beginning to read simple captions.
Phase Three  The remaining 7 letters of the alphabet, one sound for each. Graphemes such as ch, oo, th representing the remaining phonemes not covered by single letters. Reading captions, sentences and questions. On completion of this phase, children will have learnt the "simple code", i.e. one grapheme for each phoneme in the English language.

Phase Four

No new grapheme-phoneme correspondences are taught in this phase. Children learn to blend and segment longer words with adjacent consonants, e.g. swim, clap, jump.
Phase Five Now we move on to the "complex code". Children learn more graphemes for the phonemes which they already know, plus different ways of pronouncing the graphemes they already know.
Phase  Six Working on spelling, including prefixes and suffixes, doubling and dropping letters etc.

Children progress at different rates and so your child will be learning within the phase that is appropriate for them. Children’s progress is monitored every half term and the groupings for each phase are flexible. It is important that your child is working at the correct phase for them as this will provide a solid base for future learning.  Please talk to your child's teacher to find out at what phase your child is currrently working at.  We are only to happy to guide you in their learning.